Sunday, December 21, 2014

Winter Solstice / Rosh Chodesh Tevet Tov!

The Winter Solstice and the Sun's ingress into Capricorn ("Gidi" the Goat) occurs at 3:03pm Pacific / 6:03pm Eastern today and 1:03 am Israel time on Monday. Rosh Chodesh Tevet begins at Sundown this evening.

This Hebrew Year 5775 contains two days of Rosh Chodesh Tevet. Tevet is associated with Capricorn, the Cardinal (Initiating) Earth Sign. 

The Planet Saturn ("Shabtai" in Hebrew) is the ruler of Capricorn and Tevet. "Shabtai" comes from the same root as the word "Shabbat". Saturn, Tevet and Capricorn are all connected to the Tribe of Dan.
 
Dan was the natural first-born son of Bilhah, the handmaiden of Rachel, with Jacob, and is one of the four "Directional" points (North/Dan, South/Reuven, East/Yehudah, West/Ephraim) of both the Zodiac and the Tribal Encampments of the Children of Israel as detailed in BaMidbar (Numbers), Chapter 2.


The Tikkun of Dan and the Month of Tevet is ANGER. Fixing our anger and elevating it from the most base expression to holy righteous indignation is the energetic imperative during this time of the Jewish Year.


Dan is about judgement. Judging with an immature and undeveloped consciousness will bring the destructive energy of anger. Judging with a mature and sensitive consciousness will bring righteousness. 


Because there are two days of Rosh Chodesh Tevet this year, they both are included in Chanukkah (Candles 6 and 7), as the Light of Chanukkah is critical at this time, and greatly needed to be able to see into anger's darkness. 


When we look into the candles tonight and tomorrow night, let's use that light to look into our own hearts and scour out any remnants of toxic anger that might be hiding in the dark corners - make room for more LIGHT!


Chodesh Tevet Tov and Chanukah Sameach!